Poets logo

Take a Leap

By Jess Boyes

By Jess BoyesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8
Photo 151339107 / Cushion © Snowyns | Dreamstime.com

No help from the airline, on the plane I stand. Reading the safety instructions, I don’t understand, so I leap.

Evening. Walking the streets of suburbia, I see houses with their lights on but I don’t want to enter. Walking by a group of tattooed men, staring at me. They nod, I say “hello” - they look surprised. One turns to say, “thank you.” I’ve made them happy. I’m not scared, but I don’t want to be there, so I leap.

Daylight. I’m calm as I fall from the sky, almost flying into the air cushion as I land. The sensation I feel as I sink deeper into it. This makes me happy. I scramble to get out as those tattooed men watch me - they’re happy to see me.

I walk with them, the sun is warm. One of them is looking for love. Being set up, I’m not scared but it’s time for me to leave, so I leap; leap back into the air cushion, sinking back into it, he’s watching from above, watching me scramble off - so I can leap.

performance poetry
8

About the Creator

Jess Boyes

From Melbourne, Australia, I love creative writing and food, particularly a good quality cheese or some sort of dairy.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • This comment has been deleted

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    That feeling of falling or leaping happens all the time in my dreams. Poem flows as a dream ❤️

  • Ruth Stewartabout a year ago

    I've alway wanted to be able to fly, I relate to this writing. Your words and my heart.

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    I love the way that you show how fear turns into courage.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I loved the form and how you leapt from scene to scene much how dreams can flow. Well done!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is a wonderful piece. I like how the scene changes with every leap. Well done.

  • Moritz Bauerabout a year ago

    good job with that poem:) some interesting thoughts in there!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.