Poets logo

Take a deep breath

Poetry (9/14/19)

By Yoruichi Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Who’s to say I’ll live to die another day

What will I look back on and have my loved ones be so proud of

What have I accomplished that spoke volumes that moved mountains that inspired lives or instilled hope

Nothing

So far all I’ve done was mope

My life’s changing but not grabbing it by the dick

Seeking love but never leaving the comfort of my crib

I don’t want to just make ripples anymore bitch I want to make waves

Where I have peace of mind, financial stability and a place where I feel safe

Who’s to say I’ll wake up this morning to come

How should I move to make sure my goals are aligned with my soul and the personal journey that was curated for me

I wish to see the bigger picture but my vision only perceives what’s in front of me

The mirror says objects may appear closer then they are

But the broken fragments of glass prick my finger dividing any hope I had in me

Where should I go fearing the unknown but desperately wanting to be so bold that I just throw caution to the wind diving in head first knowing that I can swim

The stereotypes have been embedded so deep within me that even though I can keep My head above I feel as though all I should do is scream

Stay calm have faith thats what my role models say my mother and grandmother who have yet to catch a break

I’m drowning in water that is 3 feet deep letting my mind create illusions that keep me from being free

Allowing fear to cloud my vision of what I really need to see

BITCH STAND UP

You have two working feet why face defeat when you haven’t even tried but have to nerve to flea

“Who the fuck do you think you are?”

“Nobody.”

“That’s the wrong attitude to have when trying to achieve something great baby.”

“You are your ambitions.”

“You are your strength.”

“You are all that you need on the path of becoming great.”

“You are beauty.”

“You are confidence.”

“And I dare any bitch to try and tell you some fucking nonsense.”

“You are hungry you are a beast.”

“Starving to exceed any limits that you have placed and got you beat.”

“You are enough.”

“You are intelligent.”

“You are what you’ve created your narrative to be it’s all what you make it.”

“I believe in me.”

Now say that times three go out and kick ass cause there is way too much adversity that you need to beat.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Yoruichi

Hey my name is Yvette.

Welcome 🌚🌝

Thanks for reading

Twitter : @yoruichi1218

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.