Poets logo

T-Rex: Haunter of Dreams

An entry for Poemosaurus Rex

By Rachel DeemingPublished 26 days ago Updated 24 days ago 2 min read
13
T-Rex: Haunter of Dreams
Photo by Amy-Leigh Barnard on Unsplash

When I was young, I feared you most;

More than lava, more than ghosts.

More than vampires on the stairs

Who'd try to grab you unawares:

Kiefer and his wild eyed crew

Couldn't hold a stake to you.

*

I think it's your amount of teeth,

That frightened me beyond belief.

You used to visit in my dreams;

An apparition from our screens,

Where Harryhausen took his clay,

And shaped you real and made you sway;

A lumbering creature, piercing eyes

Tiny arms, stupendous thighs;

And yet my eyes were always drawn

To the power of your form.

You sank your teeth into my mind,

I wondered at your curious kind:

Could it be? The question vexed -

That there had been a real T-Rex?

And when I see those movies now

I wonder how I was ever cowed.

*

According to my nightly visions,

Our hayshed was a T-Rex prison

Where you would come with appetite

And try and kill us with a bite.

You'd chase us through the yellow bales,

Like Medusa with her rattling tail;

Your jaws apart, your mighty roar,

Your determined run across the floor.

The thud of outsized chicken feet

Signalled imminent defeat.

And we would dive to get away

Into cuboids of golden hay.

Your snap would miss me by an inch

And others you would gamely pinch

From where they'd bravely tried to hide

But alas! They almost always died.

Some of us were awful plucky;

Others often not so lucky.

You and the Cyclops alternated;

The models Harry had created

Stuck in my head, a nightly refrain

Eating my family again and again.

Part of me knew that you were not real

You were in my head! You'd never reveal

Yourself to me in this modern time

Other than bones in a museum line.

Imagine the fuss that you would cause

With your slavering jaws and piercing roars!

The world would almost die in fright

At the threat of your meaty might.

*

I've stood by you now, bare and white

Lit up above me, stark and bright;

Teeth on show, hollow eyes,

Presence still but no surprise.

You're awesome, standing pinned and still.

I'm glad that you can't move at will,

Despite the fact I see you're dead;

My fear still hollers in my head.

*

You no longer haunt my sleep,

Upon my family try and creep;

The farm has gone, the hay is scattered,

I don't worry about being splattered

By the jaws of a magnificent beast

Who on my bones demands to feast.

And though you're no longer alive,

You do live on in people's minds;

Jurassic Park and its dark humour

Still proposes your superior

Hunting power, running speed,

Eagerness to grab a feed.

Part of me would love to see

Your mottled flesh infront of me

More than just up on a screen

(But if I'm honest, I'm not keen.

I like the fact I have two legs,

A body still below my head).

I'd gasp and as I've often done

When nerves believe that they have won

Let out a startled burst of laughter

And be masticated shortly after.

humorFree VerseFor FunFamily
13

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶16 days ago

    This is absolutely brilliant and hilarious 🤩! I love… ‘ You sank your teeth into my mind, I wondered at your curious kind: Could it be? The question vexed - That there had been a real T-Rex?’ I seem have overlooked this poem, whilst avidly reading your serial🙃 Shirley Belk’s story set me upon your poem.✅

  • Absolutely brilliantly amusing✅ I just saw your poem praised in Shirley Belk’s dinosaur story… I’d been so captivated by your serial that I missed this😵‍💫. Despite truly not liking dinos… I love this!💜 Especially… ‘ You sank your teeth into my mind, I wondered at your curious kind: Could it be? The question vexed - That there had been a real T-Rex?’🤩

  • Paul Stewart22 days ago

    Chum, this is just splendid. Love the references to Harryhausen...grew up adoring films with his work in them! This had a lovely flow and was gentle at times but still kept that very real terror you had at the time. Well done on a superb entry!

  • Shirley Belk24 days ago

    So well done!!! This could be a Halloween book! It's their stubby arms that freak me out.... I think they are angry because they can't reach out and grab us.

  • D.K. Shepard25 days ago

    Loved the lines "I think it's your amount of teeth, That frightened me beyond belief." Worked so well as an anchor for the fear. Enjoyed all the references too!

  • Cathy holmes25 days ago

    Haha. This is great. All that just to get eaten in the end.

  • Hehehehehehehe masticated and then he'll be constipated, lol. I loved your poem so much. It was an adventure!

  • John Cox25 days ago

    T-Rex did not visit my dreams often, but he definitely was the worst. Excellent poem and challenge entry, Rachel! And you dredged up movies that I saw as a child to boot! Harry was Mr go to in Hollywood for monsters for something like forty years.

  • Rachel, this is so powerful and evokes what most of us felt as children. Bravo, gurl!

  • angela hepworth26 days ago

    You encompass a child’s fear of the dinosaur so well! Amazing poem Rachel!

  • Hannah Moore26 days ago

    This here is my favourite so far. Love how it eats the family again and again.

  • Gerard DiLeo26 days ago

    Wonderful!

  • Margaret Brennan26 days ago

    FANTASTIC.... FUNNY ... SMART ... INTERESTING .... AND JUST WOW!! I love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.