Poets logo

Synonymity

Talking your mind through your soul’s grief

By Erica MachenPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Like

I want to except losing you, I don’t want to accept it.

I refuse to accept that you are gone… You are in heaven, except, you are still with me.

I want to feel the void, I don’t want to fill the void. There is a space in my heart, and I don’t want it filled with anything other than your memory. Yes, pain comes with it, but that means I still feel the power of your love.

I will not groan from this pain, I will have grown from it.

I will not have it chasing my heel, as I will heal from it.

Your memory does not knead at me, no, I need it.

I am will not marry the pain of your memory, instead, I am merry in it.

I will not forever be in mourning, instead, I will be driven by your love each morning.

You are not a broken piece of me, no, you are the peace within me.

I am not poor in my sorrow. Instead, from your love, you still pour into me.

The ache will not rein me in. The rain washed my heart clean.

I will not suffer from the scene of losing you. I will remember things you have seen.

I am not sole in my journey. My soul is inspired by yours.

I don’t have just some of your memory. I am a sum of your life.

Instead of the weight of lead upon my shoulders, I will remember as you led me.

I will remember not to be a maid to your memory, instead, I realize I am made in it.

Your memory isn’t banned, it’s an invisible band I wear around my finger… always circling me in power and love.

I won’t drag my pain behind me as a tail tacked on. I will tell the tale of everything you gave to this world.

I will not carry the weight of not seeing you again… I know it’s just a wait until I do.

My eye is not fixed upon the pain, I am focused upon healing.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Erica Machen

From being a lonely only child, through silent adversity, and coming through to the side of self-realization, I am now a wife and mother of five looking to paint a portrait of life through the art of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.