Poets logo

Ripples

How can we see ourselves more clearly?

By Erica MachenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

My mirror isn’t a mirror.

It’s a lake.


Ideally, it’s still and pristine,

But that’s rare.


Instead,

There are days when it’s muddy.

There are days when the ripples completely deform my reflection.

On muddy days,

There is no reflection.

I'm lost in the murkiness.

I try to see me,

But all I can see is that to-do list floating across the surface.

Work.

Worry.


Clean.

Cry.

Pay the bills.


Fake a smile.

Cook.

Worry.

Clean.

Cry.

Fake a smile.

Go here, pick this up, go there, repeat.

Then, when I have a fleeting moment to myself,

And the muddy murkiness clears,

I think it's getting clearer…


Until…

I start throwing those stones.


Bad hair day.

Toss one in.


Ripple.

See those stretch marks?

Plop.


There goes another.

Is that a wrinkle on my forehead?

Splash,

Here we go again.

The ripples completely distort my reflection,

And I can’t remember what the clear image really looks like.

Then, he takes my hands from the pile of stones…

And I have to see me.

He won’t allow me to continue to throw them.


He won’t let me obstruct my reflection.


The mud and ripples settle, 


And I can see straight through.


The stones of my flaws lay beneath.


They are beautiful.

Each piece, that I thought tarnished me,

They are what add beauty and color to my reflection.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Erica Machen

From being a lonely only child, through silent adversity, and coming through to the side of self-realization, I am now a wife and mother of five looking to paint a portrait of life through the art of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.