Poets logo

Synesthesia

How I see the world

By Megan Stockhill Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Synesthesia
Photo by Photoz ace on Unsplash

Breathing in teal on a warm summer night

Gyrating splash of malachite

Cutting through pineapple sunshine drizzle

Lathering pink scent of clementine fizzle

Why are my thoughts so loud?

Why are my dreams so bright?

I can't say it out loud

That I see songs with my eyes

Poetry in the light

And faces in the clouds

Number 5 is cloaked in chlorophyll green

Chartreuse and shades of evergreen tree

Thursday is charcoal dark indigo smoke

Festooned with ash of midnight plum

Saturday shimmers: lemon creamsicle sun

Tinting Sunday's warm honey-oat tones

August tastes like orange and beer

Letter F is porcelain mint leaf-hued

Letter Q with her orchid roseate veneer

Curved punk rock poster child curlicue'd

And number 1 is pale iced daffodil cold

2's Valentine heart red, 3's marigold

Tasting bubbling songbird aqua July

Swimming in creepy crocodile green eyes

February smells of salmon rose glow

Of moonlit shadows dancing on snow

Why is that song so round?

Why is this word so light?

I can't say it out loud

That I see perfume with my eyes

Phosphene fireworks at night

And taste caramel in the clouds

nature poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Megan Stockhill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.