Poets logo

Swimming in the Fire

A coming-of-age love POEM

By Justiss GoodePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo Credit: Canva.com

"Swimming in the Fire"

Written by Charm Baker - aka: Justiss Goode

When I had my first taste of love

I was just a wide-eyed kid.

And I’d have never thought that there was anyone

to make me feel the way you did.

Cause I was young

and couldn’t know

the passions that were soon to flow,

until I fell into the fire.

Now I had been with plenty other guys in town

But they were full of childish games.

And when I met you baby

I was glad to find

that your love was not the same.

Cause you showed me

the woman I was

and not the girl I used to be.

That’s when I fell into the fire

How can my body be inflamed

while swimming in love like this?

And every single part of me

is wet from your moist kiss.

How am I surrounded by these flames

yet drowning in your love?

The situation makes no sense

but fits me like a glove.

So when I claim I’m drenched in heat

You must think I’m a liar.

But I say to you honestly

I’m swimming in the fire.

******************************************************

FOLLOW JUSTISS GOODE FOR MORE POETRY, SELF AWARENESS ADVICE AND HUMAN BEHAVIOR STORIES TO HELP IMPROVE YOUR PSYCHE - Enjoy a little bit of Justiss every day :-)

love poems
1

About the Creator

Justiss Goode

Old crazy lady who loves to laugh and make others smile, but most of all, a prolific writer who lives to write! Nothing like a little bit of Justiss every day :-)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • David Thomas2 years ago

    I loved it and very original poem!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.