Poets logo

Swimming

Everything I asked for

By SouluminosityPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Swimming
Photo by Fernando Torres on Unsplash

Sitting in a pool of blessings,

frigid from every obstacle I befriended,

every bee I let sting the landmarks on my skin,

the birthmarks with their birthright

to shine in the constellation of a melanin milk way,

I thank the universe for the chill on my spine

keeping me aware of all the beauty I have now that I used to cry for.

And I ask the universe that if I ever question whether destruction always precedes creation

that it can hold a mirror up to my face,

show me the cracks they call smile lines

and remind me that the shell I am in

has faced many lifetimes of crumbled empires,

that were rebuilt with willpower and a little sleep

and this one is no different.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Souluminosity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.