Poets logo

Sweetheart

Free verse Poem

By ChickadeePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

Dandelion fluffs carrying wishes & hopes

float aimlessly in the wind

With petals plucked off of their flower home.

A lilting voice calling out “Hello!” to me

is carried along in the wind,

my ears draw the tune in.

We spot each other across the way,

hands raised in recognition as

I quicken my pace.

When I reach you, my face bursts into a smile,

as does yours, but with a hint of dimples.

“How are you, my friend?” you greet me.

“It’s good to see your face,”

my answer comes out nervously,

for this is our first meet-cute.

A cool breeze cuts through the heat,

caressing my cheeks and ruffling your hair,

reminding me to breathe deep and

feel the breaths

in my body and lungs.

We walk on the slightly dewy grass,

moist from last night’s rainfall.

Small flowers of vivid colors

pop out here and there,

with their faces tilted and

yearning for a chance to

bathe in the sunlight.

Conversation ebbs and flows

effortlessly

between

you

and

I;

an ease quite foreign to the both of us.

Animated while sharing your stories,

the emotions are written all over your face,

while the empath in me feels similar pangs.

Mutual love of shared interests

bridge the gaps of conversation

between us.

We arrive at a dirt path that

invites us to explore the forest ahead.

All around, the trees create an emerald canopy

and encloses us in our own oasis.

There is no one else nearby;

only the creatures of the earth

nestled comfortably

inside their homes.

After some time, we reach the centerpiece,

the coveted prize of the hike and of

this magical place:

the lake.

The water droplets on its' surface glint in the

bright summer sunshine,

reminiscent of diamonds sparkling.

We find ourselves sitting side-by-side on a bench

near the water’s edge.

Our feet are granted a much needed rest as

the quacking of ducks echoes to where we are,

interrupting the beautiful silence.

Birds above sing their delightful melodies

as the trees creak in tandem.

We are lost in a bubble of this

perfect summer day,

highlighted with quiet laughs

and barely audible sighs of joy.

Time seems to stand still,

no worries or cares sitting heavy on our minds.

We turn to each other with eyes softened

mirroring the sweetness within our souls.

No words pass through our lips, for

somehow

telepathy already exists between

our hearts.

Evening begins its approach,

with the temperature steadily dropping.

Shivers run through me and

I find your arms loosely wrapped around my shoulders.

Such a charming act

causes the goosebumps on my arms to retreat,

while warmth emanates from your body

and your heart,

wrapping me in comforting exhilaration.

Unfortunately, the time to part ways arrives,

yet

we both agree that it feels as though

we can never be apart.

You utter the best words

that drift and settle gently on my heart:

“See you tomorrow,

my sweetheart;

I can’t wait.”

love poems
1

About the Creator

Chickadee

Novice free verse poet and writer.

Loves include but are not limited to: music, books, video games, the beach, etc..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.