Poets logo

Sweet as Shades:

Prose poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Sweet as Shades:
Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

My heart is skippin’

like a pair of

heart shaped shades

Blushing hard

like emoji heart eyes

a livin’ daydream—

Young and naive,

Oh to be 15 again-

Omg I want a pair,

so cool like find’n

a way into his heart-

Going to a dress up party

as Elton Jon groovy

My love is extroverted

written all over my face

Pale as Marylin Manson

Cliche as Rocketman

He’s confident

yet quirky

QUICKLY

up the River of Love

without a paddle-

Those points on the shades

might slice her cheeks

He’s available

yet daring

She reminds me of REBELLION

I was cutting class

she was dressed all puritan

Bare one’s heart

Go for broke,

don’t break my heart,

AND I won’t break

your heart shaped glasses!

Wrestling with intense emotions

like the Heartbreak Kid-

She’s someone who likes to be

a little different

Yet rather attractive

RECOGNIZABLY

different is good as one’s word

He’s playful as a player

Actin’ like someone has a hangover

More like love drunk

Shit y he do dat?

They're having fun

Acting like idiots

Lovely as bohemian enlightenment

Hippie young at heart

SIMPLY

happy to be alive!

He probably can lead me to

good edibles down Penny Lane

From across the room downlighting

as lighthearted and fun loving as them

POSITIVELY

My heart is meltin’

like a pair of

heart shaped shades

either he’ll be real sweetie

either she’ll be real bitchy

Both of ‘em

not afraid to be unique;

They're extra like a piece of gum,

his attitude burst like a bubble

Not inflated with ego

OPPOSITLY

Loving the chill like a kid tryin’

to revive the 60’s

His dance moves like a

a senior citizen caught in a time warp-

My heart is leapin’

like a pair of

heart shaped shades

She’s free spirited

He’s outgoing

Their first impression

(Jus’ maybe, I met my soulmate)

Lovin’ the idea of seein’

love everywhere like the reflection in shades

First look in the little things,

in life as moments love

Can be seen everywhere,

in rose color lenses

in a smile,

in a laugh,

in a full room,

at first sight,

staring back at one another

like a dum dum sucker

STICKY

yet sweet lifelong connection

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.