Poets logo

Suspension

A Goodbye

By Rachel LightfootPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
3
Suspension
Photo by Tim Trad on Unsplash

Suspension is like a half truth,

Caught somewhere between

The hard edge of honesty,

And the softness of a lie.

Frozen in outer space,

As breadcrumbs orbit,

Forever displaced.

I recognise this place,

I've been here before

Wounded and disgraced.

It's different now though,

I grew feathers from scars,

Studied the half in’s

And half out’s,

And noted the ones

Who always leave the door ajar.

I learned how to slip free from the noose,

And to Recognise the importance of lies

When digging for truths.

I twisted my spine into steel

Broke the vertebrae,

In order to feel.

Taught myself how to heal,

From all of the burdens shouldered

In the pursuit of something real.

And from my broken back

Pinions grew strong,

Carried me along.

So you see,

I no longer need to dangle

At someone else's angle,

I've decided to release

The tension

From this suspension.

I'm going to

Leave this place,

Make my journey back

from outer space.

I cannot stay within your orbit,

Instead I'll wrestle all the stars,

Rip open the atmosphere,

And leave Phobos and Deimos

To dance desperately around Mars.

The time has now come

for me to say 'goodbye',

These wings are too extensive,

They command me to fly.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Rachel Lightfoot

I like to play with words.

Poems, mostly.

https://rachellightfoot.wixsite.com/my-site

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.