Poets logo

Zombie

A Poem

By Rachel LightfootPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
4
Zombie
Photo by Chris Hall on Unsplash

I cannot think of anything more dread

than folk who speak of the weather,

and share photographs of sliced bread;

talking about who they will wed,

and how they put the kids to bed.

I need more than this to keep my mind well-fed.

Chatter about wedding dresses and rings

I find rather banal, amongst other things.

Small talk stings.

Tell me of wild things!

Spring forth tales to make my mind 'ping'!

Nothing aggravates me like apathy.

Can you just show me your teeth?

Reveal to me your beliefs?

Tell me what brings you grief?

Take me to the places you find relief.

Nothing grates more than monotony.

Talk to me of your world,

not the world where you

go to work, come home, eat, sleep, repeat.

Eat, sleep, repeat.

Eat, sleep, repeat.

I mean your inner world:

your definitions of sublime,

your filthy little secrets,

the things that make you tick.

Regale me with jokes that are sick!

Your indifference actually offends me.

Play with me.

Be silly,

be sick,

be off the wall,

heck, you can even be cruel!

Just please, please don't feed me mind gruel!

Don't speak to me of

traffic,

of the office,

of blah, blah, blah...

"Friday night wine time!"

"Live, laugh, love!"

"U OK hun?"

No, I'm bored shitless, bruv.

Speak to me in whispers,

Regale me with tales of the undead.

Let me crawl inside your head,

and with all that being said...

Be careful how you tread:

too many tedious conversations

leave zombies in the shed.

I'm in need of a real soul

to replenish this mind and make it whole.

I'm craving 'braaaains',

the last thing I need

is more droll 'Karen' casserole!

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Rachel Lightfoot

I like to play with words.

Poems, mostly.

https://rachellightfoot.wixsite.com/my-site

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.