Poets logo

Surrender

love poem

By Mimi SparkesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Surrender
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The light has disappeared

There’s nothing left here

As I look up to the starless sky

I realise why

I tried to save you

But you were too far gone

Leaving me alone

Wondering what I did wrong

Nowadays we don’t even talk

Answerphone cuts through it all

I can’t take the pressure anymore

When we were kids we used to laugh

Now I don’t even get a glance

And you think I’m the one to blame

Well I’ll tell you now I am leaving the game

There’s no other way to describe your life

You play it once you play it twice

Well I may not treat it like you do

Life’s no game and that is true

And even though I’m not playing

I’ll never surrender

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Mimi Sparkes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.