Poets logo

Surrender

Dreams under a full Moon

By Kristen BalyeatPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
18
Surrender
Photo by Jake Weirick on Unsplash

My fate was sealed when I closed my eyes

I wouldn’t have slept had I known my demise.

I was instantly transported into the ground,

Now humming of Earth was the only sound.

The humus was echoing the recycler's song.

Decomposers were near, their ballad was strong.

I tried to resist folding into the dirt-

I thought of my life left behind... and it hurt.

SURRENDER- I heard as I fought in the night.

SURRENDER- it’s happening, you don’t have to fight.

You’ll only suffer more if you hold on too tight.

So I finally let go and surrendered my life.

As my body transformed, there was an ethereal call-

It happened shortly after I surrendered it all.

A serenade of the Moon piercing through the dark Earth.

She sang straight to my heart and called me to re-birth.

I rose from decay and climbed into her light

And worshiped the thought of another chance at this life.

Her full face shone on me and lit up my soul.

I wept as I realized my body was whole.

You have your life back, so go give it your best.

Remember impermanence of life and eternal rest.

I raised up my arms and danced in her light,

I was here in my body, living full was my plight.

I could love big, embrace, and create once again.

I was really ALIVE and this wasn’t the end.

Perspective renewed from the Moon’s song to my heart

Death is coming for us all, from this life we’ll depart.

The past and the future are just thoughts in your head,

Go SURRENDER to each moment before you are dead.

surreal poetry
18

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is gorgeous. I especially love the ending.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Your rhythm is stunning. And I adore the theme in this piece; such a beautiful scene and atmosphere, an the message follows perfectly from it. That depression is real, and truly takes an act of nature to revive again. Truly great work.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Love the repetition ☺️

  • Beautiful! I love the way you finish this: "Go SURRENDER to each moment before you are dead." The story itself is fantastic, and the rhyme scheme and word selection are perfect! Outstanding!

  • Emma Kate Coleman10 months ago

    Wow! I love that your Moon is a she. ☺️ Nursery rhymes taught me there was a man up there. 😅

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Wow! I love this. The flow was immaculate and the content, engaging and relatable. I surrender!

  • I surrender, Kristen, at least to this moment & to these hauntingly beautiful words you have written.

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I’m so glad Paul shared this! I remember you commenting on one of the first stories I published about your own experience with shadow work and the moon, but I did not know you’d written about it. Loved this.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Wow, how did I miss this? Your talent just shines, as always!

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Ooooh that ending! 🤯❤️ true words.

  • Whoaaaa! This was so deep and beautifully written!

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    So thought I'd go back to your start and read your first! damn impressive! just so much beauty, depth, understanding and elegance in your writing, Ms Balyeat!

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    I love this: "The past and the future are just thoughts in your head,"

  • TheCryptoJediabout a year ago

    So Beautiful, Death Has Come For Me 10 Times In This Lifetime and Has Fled Every Time. I Look Forward To The Rest. My Soul Is Weary.

  • Rachel Roseabout a year ago

    would be a cute illustrated bedtime story book.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.