Poets logo

Support Mental Illness

Janelle Barker

By Janelle barkerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Support Mental Illness
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

We have known each other for 32 years

A marriage, a son, a divorce

A love-hate relationship

That took its course

Corona kicked in

You took the scientific approach

You preached your thoughts

Until you had a sore throat

Aliens, paedophiles, government

Is your belief to rid the human race

Injecting us with chips

So, we can be traced

You believe you are a target

So strongly in your mind

That you would rather leave this life

To search for peace

You think you will find

You ring me you're planning your suicide

Look after our boy

My brain is fried

Murdock the devil and government

Have got me in their sights

My premonitions are so real

I’m too scared to close my eyes

Everything nearly in order

I have accepted my fate

I will go out my way

I will not be anybody’s bait

Is this a cry for help

Ring lifeline

If you’re in doubt

How can you put me through this

How do I tell your son

Your daddy is gone

But his proud of

The boy you become

The emotion repercussions of your decision

Will affect your boys

With sadness, they will be ridden

Now I’m left to sit here and ponder

And cry for my son

Wondering how to tell him your life with your daddy

Is done

Not knowing when you will do it

And dreading the phone to ring

How can you put me in this situation

I feel like I am waiting for the end

Of the string

I hope you rethink and change your mind

Get the help you need

And to yourself be kind

Receiving your call, admitting your sick

I know was hard

For you to admit

I beg you, get help to find your way

To wake up and live to see another day.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Janelle barker

Author of emotives

Poetry is powerful

https://www.jellspoetrybooks.com

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/50608401

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.