Poets logo

Happier Now

Janelle Barker

By Janelle barkerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Happier Now
Photo by Sharon Pittaway on Unsplash

She found that true connection, so she thought

She gave her heart and soul

She was bought

Believing in their love, even when apart

In the end, all she got was a

Shattered heart

You bought me things

You said the right word

It was so long ago, now it’s all blurred

The memories stay as it was

My first heartbreak

I moved on to bigger and better things

For my own sake

Many, Many years later

I bumped into you and your

Family

I saw who you left me for

You look so unhappy

Trying to hide from me

That day

Didn’t work

But, seeing you unhappy

Was my perk

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Janelle barker

Author of emotives

Poetry is powerful

https://www.jellspoetrybooks.com

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/50608401

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.