Poets logo

Support and encourage poetry

Keeping Hope Alive

By Sal ToriPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Support and encourage poetry
Photo by Jack Zhu on Unsplash

If you never need encouragement in your life, then you are probably not human. If you have never needed the support of friends or family, then you are probably living on a desert island. If you've never experienced frustration or pain, then you've probably never left your room or been involved with another person.

I have good shoulders. I was going to be an engineer. I had my life planned out. Then my life was turned upside down. I left engineering. I had no idea how I was going to make money. My life quickly turned into years of frustration and depression. I didn't know how I was going to get out of the situation I was in. I went from being an engineer to pizza delivery. I delivered pizzas for 30 months while my friends became lawyers, engineers, and business owners.

It was during this time that I started writing encouraging poems and love letters to give myself an outlet to express myself. I also knew that at some point in the future I would leave where I was. I knew the frustration wasn't permanent, even if it felt like it. I know I won't be delivering pizza forever, even though I haven't had a way out in over two years.

The most important thing to remember when you are feeling frustrated is to get along with people. Don't get close. Connect with family and friends. Allow yourself to be supported. When you can't lift yourself, let others do it. Find a community, a church, a meeting group, anything. Stay in touch with people.

If you're like me, sitting at home eight hours a day for two years straight and delivering pizzas part-time in the evenings, then you'll know what I'm talking about. Being alone for long periods is not good for you or anyone else.

The most important thing is to stay hopeful. Keep moving forward. Don't stagnate or stand still. Build your momentum, even if you feel like you're not moving. Rejuvenate often. Don't wallow in your pity for too long. Focus on breaking your downward spiral. If needed, get healing from someone you trust. But most importantly, stay hopeful. Even if you can't believe things will be different, stay open to the possibility that things might be different if you keep moving forward. That's all you need.

inspirationalhow to
Like

About the Creator

Sal Tori

Education is what remains after one has forgotten everything one has learned in school.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.