Poets logo

Superstitious

"When I close my eyes I see you."

By elisha aflaloPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I spill salt,

so I throw some

over my shoulder.

Behind my back

you lick the salt

from your wounds.

Wounds.

Now, your veins

are spilling blood,

at the same speed

your mouth is telling me you love me.

I am too superstitious

to walk under ladders;

to walk towards you.

To be with you.

Now,

the bitterness is filling my mouth.

Your taste

still stuck in my mouth,

I drink.

I drink, drink, drink.

I am drowning

in your sorrows.

You blanket me with falsities,

shield my eyes with guilt and longing.

I see black.

When I close my eyes I see you.

When I open them again you are gone.

Just like the space beside me.

My heart a mirror.

Cracked.

Your reflection, cracked.

Seven years of bad luck.

You are my bad luck.

Bad luck.

You follow me.

I follow you.

I am too superstitious,

cross my fingers

knock on wood.

Knock, knock, knock.

I hope

I don’t get lost in you again.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.