Poets logo

Super Hero Or Super Villain

What will you do with your superpower

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2022
19
Image courtesy of Pixabay

We are commonly enraptured by super hero films

Superman, who can fly or even Batman and Robin,

Many children dream of becoming a super hero

Others adore the villains that are totally rotten.

***

I’m sure there have been times we’d all had dreams

Of having our very own superpower, giving us glory,

At times I wish I could fly, others I wish I was strong

And more often than not, I wish I could write a story.

***

There are days when I’m down, wishing I was funny

Then there are the good days and I wish I could heal,

The sick, the anguished, the insane, the sick children

I’d take away their illness, pain they’d no longer feel.

***

On occasion I wish I could pluck money from the air

But then I realised I would probably turn into a villain,

Instead I wish I could spread the world with abundance

Or discover a cure for cancer, something like penicillin.

***

Then it began to occur to me, we all have a superpower

It’s one we all have in common, it’s our own very heart,

That amazing personal vessel that holds much inside it

Like love, passion, empathy, desire, it’s our work of art.

***************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirational
19

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    An excellent story told in poetry

  • Brin J.2 years ago

    I just wrote a poem about villains too. Waiting for it to get published but it seems many of us are discovering what we were taught as children made us want to be a hero... only to learn the villains were the more realistic characters we relate to.

  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    Very cute poem and relatable sentiment

  • This was so beautiful! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.