Poets logo

Sunscreen on the Beach

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Sunscreen on the Beach
Photo by Storiès on Unsplash

I could see the sun was setting as I was getting ready to sit. My old chair was such a nice fit. I sat and watched the suns magnificent beauty slowly float a drift. I could see its essence was a divine gift.

I inhaled air, and the aroma of sunscreen and ocean was still wafting through as I was sitting in my chair. I said to a nice lady, “excuse me miss, is that SPF 45 in your hair?” She looked very fair.

She sat next to me and starting talking, but all I could hear was those darn seagulls squawking. Their high pitch tone was shrill and mocking. Those darn birds were flocking.

I opened up my sandwich bag, my mouth watering already. I was about to take my first bite, when the seagulls swooped in, ready. I swatted them away and kicked sand in the air. It was to no avail, the birds flew away with my sandwich, and chunks of my hair. All I needed was the bite I could taste, but those seagulls turned it into bird waste. I hope they at least enjoyed it, all I had left was mint flavored paste.

I tried to relax, moving my hand through the sand. It was nice, better then a live smooth jazz band. I could feel it’s smoothness, it’s tiny grains slipping through my fingers. I talked more to the nice lady, who said she worked for many singers. I asked if she could sing, and she sung me a song. I could feel the passion in her voice vibrating long.

listsurreal poetrynature poetryinspirationalchildrens poetry

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was an interesting piece, I like that you went through all the senses in this story! Well thought out and written. Good work Alex!

  • Emily Binkleyabout a year ago

    Aww them crazy seagulls always disrupting the vibe 🤣🤣. Love the soothing tone of your poem.

  • Oh no the sandwich! Loved your rhymes in your prose!

  • Chloe Gilholyabout a year ago

    The imagery and senses flow wonderfully here.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Enjoyed this story, those seagulls. They are part of the beach ambiance, watch your sandwich. I am glad about the ending 🥰

Alex H Mittelman Written by Alex H Mittelman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.