Poets logo

Summer waves

send me adrift

By Abbey HuntPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Summer waves
Photo by Leio McLaren on Unsplash

Here you are — unexpected

Sitting, waiting

for me

to cast an eye

across the sea

of empty chairs

mismatched and scattered

.

You stand a tree, bowed by steady

over me

A brief embrace

calms and excites

a rush of heat

from fire light

.

Shadows pool beneath your eyes

yet you glow

warm and amber

like the citrine crystal

that dangles

from you neck

.

The resonance of your voice

reassuring

as the kick drum of your heartbeat

I press my ear

to the shell of your chest

and the waves crash

and the sand abrades my skin

and I'm so certain

because you are real

even the sickly scent of your cigarettes

that cast me adrift

— from you

.

The mask you keep firmly over your eyes

I see cracks

the sadness that lingers there

leaks out

.

Why do you look like a child

when I lay beside you?

Innocence lost

but shining

through your smile

.

Mended but falling apart

with emotions

uncovered

each a strand,

pulled and unravelled

to stitch again tighter

when we leave the summer

.

When the cold water slows you

I would wrap you in wool

and hold you in warmth

Breathe

Be still

Steady the drum of your heart

The constellation

mapped on your skin

I will trace

carefully

hopefully

till it leads me

beyond the break.

___________________________________

One of four seasonal love poems:

love poems
5

About the Creator

Abbey Hunt

An aspiring author writing short stories/series in fantasy, speculative, romance, adventure, or slice of life, and the odd philosophical take on movies or TV series. Love to share the joy and light of creative expression.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.