Poets logo

Summer Pirate

Summer Reading Challenge Book Pirate program from 1979

By JoAnne ScalfPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Reading Book Pirate Certificate, Cutler Memorial Library, St. Louis Michigan, 1979

Douglas Adams was his name, introducing Ford Prefect brought his fame.

The Catcher in the Rye was Holden's journey to New York City.

A rooftop perch in the sun on a towel, I claim.

Butterflies dance around flowers in the breeze, profanity so gritty.

Emily Bronte borrowed another name in her vagrants, venomous, vengeful tale.

Hot sun, hot sand, hot air, hot long fetch carry the pages.

Dualing settings, characters, and hearts leap forward but shan't prevail.

Too baked, too course, too heavy, these characters of hers give me grief.

A rose is a rose unless it is championed by my little prince.

How many places can a volume follow me, my mother is distraught.

As I sway in a hammock, I grew up a little then and haven't recaptured that bit of innocence.

In the daylight on a deckchair, the warmth of the bleachers, the sway of a swing, use a strap make a sling how I've been taught.

You write it, I'll read it; it's a riot being a book pirate.

Everyone should try and find their summer fun; without a book by my side, I'll be disquiet.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

JoAnne Scalf

I scribe stories and prose and am an author of a popular epidemiological study. I’m an artist and budding novelist on a mission to create engaging works that connect with readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.