Poets logo

Summer Monsoon (POEM)

By Jesus Eduardo Lopez Alvarez

By Jesus Eduardo Lopez AlvarezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Summer Monsoon (POEM)
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Every year, between April and September, warm, moist air blows and brings with it heavy rainfall and flooding. You could say I live in a constant Summer Monsoon. You see my life is not as bad as it could be, the same way a summer monsoon is not as bad as an earthquake or a tsunami. However, it’s always been there, so long that I feel it is a part of me.

Every choice I make is darkened by the big, dirty-looking clouds of a thunderstorm about to happen. And I’ve tried, I’ve tried to make a structure, to build something that protects me from the rain. But when you are constantly put down by yourself, when the problem is not the monsoon itself but the insides of your own land that are slowly rotting until there’s nothing left. When the monsoon just makes it rot faster, and it seems like you are helpless.

And I wish I could flee this land, but I’m somehow connected to it, I somehow can’t escape. I see in the horizon the many ships lighting their beacons so I can hop on and get out of there. But how do you expect me to swim all the way there in a summer monsoon?

And then after so many years of getting used to it, of non-stop rain, of hopelessness and plain sadness, I try one last time. I go with my heart

in one hand and trying to paddle with the other,

hoping I can reach the distant ships, I

try to stay afloat and half a mile in,

my body can’t handle it anymore,

a far-reaching wave plummets me

and I’m there, on the ocean floor,

thinking this is probably where

I’ve belonged this whole time,

and I don’t regret it,

because after so

many years, I

just needed a halt.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Jesus Eduardo Lopez Alvarez

This is kind of my personal diary, writing things in times of despair or awe :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.