Poets logo

Summer Lovin'

What Hurt The Most

By EmPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

You popped into my head tonight

And honestly, I don't know how to handle that

I thought back to how cute and sweet and funny you were

How you cared for me and tried to make me feel included

How you made sure I was okay in the rough waters of the lake

Because you knew I couldn't swim

I thought back to how you let me sleep over and bother you while you did homework

And after you left I wished you wouldn't pop into my head

But here you are

And honestly I don't know why

I thought back to the sweet summer nights and blissful summer sunsets

The way your lips danced against mine

I think about everything that I got to experience in those two short weeks

And I'm grateful for it

But, it does hurt me more than I thought it ever would

I knew it was just two weeks

But when I asked, I hoped your answer meant something more for us

And I think back to it

Maybe I was just kidding myself

Yet I'm still thinking

Thinking about you playing ukulele

Thinking back to teasing you for saying you could probably be a hobo

The way you were captivated by the summer sun descending over the lake and the cotton candy skies leaving us soon behind

The same way you left me behind...

Like I didn't matter...

I guess that's what hurt the most

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Em

I'm doing my best.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.