Poets logo

Suicide Note

Suicide note poem

By Bijan MondalPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1
Suicide Note
Photo by Anthony DELANOIX on Unsplash

A suicide note printed with the ninth volume of Rabindrancharanavali,

Write to son. Writing, blade in hand

Master entered the bathroom

At noon the workman through the door

He screamed seeing the blood coming.

This is his first and last letter to his son:

Arani,

I believe children are like holy water

Although my relationship with you is not good

However, I will write to you

The last two years are about your mother's treatment

My meager savings are now exhausted

I could no longer bear the cost of treatment.

I did not touch your money in life, I will not touch it even in death.

I have taught students all my life, knowingly I have done no wrong.

A parent came to my school last month

He swung to take his son

I return the first day

Return the second day

I could not do it on the third day. He gave me a big envelope

Leave with thirty thousand rupees.

Your mother's treatment is going on this month with that money

I don't know if he will return home someday

If you come back, tell me, my right to live in the world is gone.

It's over dad

When the whole country is standing on money

Then a suicide note printed with Rabindrancharanavali.

He was hiding under the tree in the hospital

I went forward towards Master Mashai covered with white cloth

Towards the slightly protruding legs —

Those two legs sticking out are like the last soil of India.

sad poetrylove poemsFamilyAcrostic
1

About the Creator

Bijan Mondal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Bijan Mondal (Author)about a month ago

    Reading my New Poem "Suicide Note".

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.