Poets logo

Suicide by Love

Heartbreak can kill of you let it.

By Anna SorensenPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

The words choked me.

Needing to be released so quickly

they all got stuck in my throat. Cutting off the air.

And you saw my silence

and thought it was a disdain for you.

Thought I didn’t say I loved you

because I really didn’t, not because I wanted to so badly it hurt.

I couldn’t breath and you walked away.

Leaving me to drop to my knees.

Struggling to grasp a breath, but I did not claw at my throat for air.

No.

I reached out to you.

Begging without words for you to come back.

To help me.

You never looked back. Not a single glance.

And the pain behind my ribs killed me.

The saddest part was not me laying dead,

with tears streaking my face and a hollow heart.

But the fact that there wasn’t enough of me left

without you. I was empty.

Your love kept me going.

And after it was dragged out by each step you took away from me,

I had nothing of my own to keep me alive.

It was suicide by love.

The only way love knows how to kill.

By there being none left.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Anna Sorensen

Just want to get my voice out there

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.