Poets logo

Sugar

God As A Teenager

By Sophie ColettePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1
Sugar
Photo by Max Bender on Unsplash

Sugar my tongue at nightfall,

your

scarred king's hands

touching the tops of my feet like a

prayer. Bodies and bodies.

we swim thru Eve,

at the beginning,

nowhere in sight,

sway this night,

hold me tight

to those sketched wheels

and wiry spirits.

But there you are, other side no

breath, with

me. intimate,

our bones thrill to it.

the world flexes.

My skin hurts with moonshine. You are smiling

like some famous man's cat

who has escaped Theory

for the evening. Triumphant and lithe. Isn't it grand?

you take the press of my collarbone in your teeth,

glide your grin through the wet air, slip, into, then

Stars. No light, but rain.

Rain and light, then, behind our

favorite bar, thick sodium glow

in the sky, and god, the rain, god's

rain, god's face and

my blood sings

I hold you with

all of me in our bed

all available

resources

limited

warranty.

We are both weeping and

shining. we are

the gods,

they are here in this bed, yes-

hold me, sugar. Tight.

Sway

this night.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Sophie Colette

She/her. Queer witchy tanguera writing about the loves of my life, old and new. Obsessed with functional analytic psychotherapy & art in service to revolution. Occasionally writing under the name Joanna Byrne.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was so beautifully written! I loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.