Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Five of Swords

Having Gone Mad in November

By Sophie ColettePublished 5 months ago 2 min read
Like
The Five of Swords
Photo by Pratiksha Mohanty on Unsplash

CW: themes of severe depression, war/atrocity, death/decay

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

My friend asks me what she can do to help.

Babe, do you need anything? – to be exact.

It’s a Wednesday evening,

the early darkness drawing over the skyline like a shroud and

I haven’t spoken a word to anyone all day, not a soul,

til this call, so the bony earth of my voice surprises us both for a moment.

I consider the question – what it means, why it’s asked;

her power and mine. I try to tally what we each have left. If anyone has anything,

when we walk a world like this one.

I think:

Drag me from beside the grave, beloved – I need help to swing my legs

out from where they dangle,

he is never coming back, none of my dead are, not ever.

I need you

to wrench my shoulders up and away

from the bloody ground, my face crushed madly against more news of war, the dead

pressing in – from home, from afar,

every day more unfathomable loss;

to find my empty eyes and pull.

I need you to help me wash my hair.

To tell me firmly that joining the dead is not for me, today;

that the way my feet tingle, their long hover just above the yawning cold,

is the lie.

I need you to hang up, immediately, and get in your car and drive to my apartment,

bring over the food that I can’t afford if I am also going to pay rent,

let me cry for as long as I need to into the shoulder of your favorite sweater.

All this is too much for any one person to ask another, and I know that,

so I say: oh – just coffee darling! Send me love send me luck. My voice light and unrecognizable,

a pretender in a glittery hat.

She tells me I’m so positive. So brave. When we hang up, I realize

I’ve failed again to say no, no, it’s rot, I am decaying, I am grieving even for those still breathing.

For whatever reason we are still pretending that I am part of the world, but

nothing makes any sense – no work, no love,

not even this despair –

and so I am crouched in my own grave, not dead and not alive.

I want at last to be seen

not as a list of terrible things that I have improbably survived,

not as the worst of my sins,

but as these and more, more,

a galaxy, a grave undone,

a hard rain that ends somehow in searing faith.

I want you to call me when you need help. More than this,

I want to come when you call. Mostly,

I want you and I to look with steady eyes on the worst things

and not falter, but to feel everything;

to move toward the nightmares,

to be permanently ensnared by the desire to do good

even as we walk the quaking world.

I do not call her back. I can’t tell

if the shame I feel is about the wanting itself

or if perhaps it is more about

the immortal grip I keep on this grief,

how it howls under

the horrible miles of earth bearing down upon it.

sad poetryheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Sophie Colette

She/her. Queer witchy tanguera writing about the loves of my life, old and new. Obsessed with functional analytic psychotherapy & art in service to revolution. Occasionally writing under the name Joanna Byrne.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.