Poets logo

Suffocating

Tales from a Recovering Perfectionist

By Shaye B.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Suffocating
Photo by Jakayla Toney on Unsplash

I try

So hard

I try

So hard

But I'm so tired

It's like the more I try

The thinner the air gets

The harder it is to breathe

The harder it is to sleep

The harder it is to hold the facade together

Because the glue is wearing

The tape weakening

And the staples holding on by their hooks

I just can't

Keep

Sacrificing my sanity for your needs

And I can't

Keep

Sacrificing my sanity for your satisfaction

And I can't

Keep

Sacrificing my sanity so you can feel secure

And I can't

Keep

Sacrificing my sanity so you can live comfortably in my world

It's not fair

While I'm giving you everything

Stepping on eggshells

Talking through sutured lips

Thinking in chains

Letting your toxicity

Pump through my veins

I don't want to do it anymore

Because I try

So hard

I try

So hard

And I'm

So

Tired

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Shaye B.

Welcome to my trainwreck. I'm Shaye B and I'm pleased to make your aquaintence. I learned to read before I could talk and learned to write because I couldn't scream. I haven't quite learned to scream yet so I'll continue to write until then

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.