Poets logo

Strings

You need to Cut it

By VTPublished 2 years ago 2 min read

Strings are lovely things

When entangled they can create a masterpiece

But they can also be a danger

You see time can pass and, as it does, strings tend to entangle us, it’s in all of our blood

Strings that tell us who we are because of what we’ve done

Strings that tell us we can never be because of what we’ve done

These are the strings that entangle us

These are the strings that restrict us

When we reach out for light, it traps us in darkness

When we try to find peace, it traps us in this depression

When we try to find a happy it tells us, it’s all lie, so why try.

Maybe your strings aren’t as severe as mine

Maybe they don’t trap you like a prisoner in a web you’ve created over time

Or they do...

It’s worse, I feel, when you know these are lies

But you can’t break free because you feel you need them to survive

They hold you above the water, and prevent you from drowning

But they also prevent you from living

I have the blade, it’s sharpened too, and I could cut them whenever I want to

But I need your help

To know that love is ok

To know that trust isnt fake

To know that everyone is broken in their own way and I’m just the same

I’m not different for having scars, because they line everyone else’s arms

Though mine may be deep and at times still bleed, it doesn’t mean I’m too broken to come back from

I love the strings that at once helped me stay afloat but I think it’s time to cut the ropes

Can you stick around when I fall, to just make sure I float above it all

I’ve observed others who cut their strings and float peacefully down this stream

I long to be like them, though it’s a struggle to stay afloat at times, they know what it means to live instead of simply being alive

And maybe instead of being afloat I too could fly

inspirational

About the Creator

VT

Where words fail my poetry speaks…

and I’m really not good at speaking.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VTWritten by VT

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.