Poets logo

stride through the storms

a poem about mental health

By Adrien S. GojkoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
stride through the storms
Photo by Felix Mittermeier on Unsplash

I’m flying

without

falling

I’m racing

without

chasing

and I will not be defeated.

Most is uncertain,

and that’s the beauty of all that is.

Life with some chaos mixed in makes for an interesting combination.

Stories to share with beloved friends surrounding the heat of a bonfire,

intimately and carefully woven conversations

keeping the group warmer than the orange flames dancing before us

There have been turbulent storms,

will be and are,

but it’s whether you dance in the rain

letting it cool your face

and heal you.

whether you eventually fight to find peace within the tempest

that defines you, here;

not the storm surrounding you in of itself.

Now that I can stride through the storms confidently,

I see my makeshift destination with clarity.

I don’t believe in assigned purposes from above,

but I think we can create our own destinies

writing and rewriting our stories with the Stardust that fuels us.

As for myself, as a whole?

I am worthy; brilliant as the Cosmos.

far too radiant, kind, courageous, unique, loved

to dance along the edge like it’s acceptable.

In the end, I’ll be at peace, but

that end isn’t a part of my plans anymore;

the adventure to it is all I concern myself with.

Hence why I’m not falling

without

flying.

racing

without

winning

Why I have not been defeated

Why I won’t be.

For I am finally realizing,

quite clearly,

I’m too deserving of happiness to play brazen games with Death.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.