Poets logo

for once, I am blissfully lost

a poem about self-discovery

By Adrien S. GojkoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
for once, I am blissfully lost
Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

Throughout the course of my entire existence thus far,

I’ve always had very strict “life plans”

For as long as I can remember,

I’ve always thought I had my entire life figured out,

with very little room for error

each time

I made a new plan.

Even though I’m not a subscriber to the notion of a Cosmic, Omniscient Deity,

I do fully understand the sentiment of

“Tell God your plans,

and He will laugh.”

If such a Being of Great Power exists,

I’m sure they have laughed at me multitudes of times.

I’m sure even a perfect being would have lost track

of all my “life plans” after “life plans”;

attempts at accomplishing goals after attempts,

without once considering myself.

For the first time in my life,

I’m actively working to accomplish what will make ME happy

I have no idea what that entails

But

for once

instead of being crushed, devastated by

such a strict, unnecessary framework

to please other people

I am free now.

Lost in a sea of possibilities

Doused in warm golden light

Breathing in the cool ocean winds

I’m not drowning this time

I’m not swimming against the current

I’m only along for the adventure of a lifetime,

leaving it up to chance.

Because, after all,

for once,

I am blissfully lost.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.