Poets logo

Stress Filled

Simplicity: Vol 1 - 4 When it could all be so simple... A poetry collection of what was realized all along, but never understood until now.

By Alicia LedellPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Stress Filled
Photo by Yogendra Singh on Unsplash

4 Stress Filled

I'm stressed,

I feel it from my head down to my chest

The headaches, the mind quakes

It seems I just can't get away

Dark clouds, clouded judgments

Closed minds, mindful notions

Am I to misjudge this frustrating truth

Is there anything left here for me to do

I've got bills, debt, and credit checks to try and make a life

But is this all there is to it

I am fluid but this is solid

A truth no one has come this close to

Is stress a way of life

Or is it a moment of sacrifice

Peace of mind, sanity, a long way from humanity

A broken word, like a torn letter

Words that just can't be put back together

There is no time to make it right

You had one chance, you have one life

Why is it all fun and games until someone's shot dead in the brain

Then everyone wants to complain but soon the hype fades and no one remembers their names

I'm stressed,

Though I'm also blessed at times I can't seem to rest with all that's going on inside my head

I think at night while there are no lights that maybe in spite of our past transgressions we will rise above all of the aggression, obsessions, and unrighteous possessions that has been placed over us for many generations

Instead of destruction I choose creation,

Instead of falling I choose elevation,

Now I'm levating and concentrating on what it's going to take on my end

It's tough I admit when you're woke life's a bitch

Even still, I can't quit

Give up my future, that's permanent

...and I'm determined that no matter what it takes I'm not going back

I won't change myself and become a nymphomaniac

I'll remain humble, and stay true

You know you're winning the game if you have a lot to lose

That's why I keep on my shoes, you never know when you'll have to step over cracks or on pieces of broken glass

Life's a mystery not all about fun, at times you don't know if your life is done or just begun

So you run, mouth goes off like a machine gun

Heart explodes parallel to a megaton

You're explosive, ticking with every passing moment

It's time for atonement realize I'm not your opponent

You're facing yourself in a test of endurance

I know it's hard but do your best to practice decorous

I'm stressed,

Can you prove if you do your best you'll progress

I want to be that for many people

Open up a path for them and show them the steps I walked

Become an inspiration for the uninspired, leave all doors unlocked

Tear down those walls so they can no longer block us, restrain us, hold us back

But this can only be with help and support from you, positive feedback

Such ashame,

You'd rather tear me down than help me build

Hope for the best as your mind continues unskilled

As for me, my mind will probably remain stress filled

sad poetry

About the Creator

Alicia Ledell

♡ʙᴇ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴏᴡɴ ᴋɪɴᴅ ᴏғ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛɪғᴜʟ!♡

ᴄᴏᴍᴇ ʟɪᴠᴇ ɪɴ ᴍʏ ᴡᴏʀʟᴅ...

ʜɪ ᴇᴠᴇʀʏᴏɴᴇ! мy naмe ιѕ alιcιa ledell.

ɪ ᴀᴍ ᴀ ʏᴏᴜɴɢ ᴡᴏᴍᴀɴ ᴡʜᴏ ᴇɴᴊᴏʏs ᴛʜᴇ ᴇxᴄɪᴛᴇᴍᴇɴᴛ ᴀɴᴅ ᴄʀᴇᴀᴛɪᴠɪᴛʏ ᴏғ ᴡʀɪᴛɪɴɢ.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alicia LedellWritten by Alicia Ledell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.