Poets logo

Complex Past

Simplicity: Vol 1 - 5 When it could all be so simple... A poetry collection of what was realized all along, but never understood until now.

By Alicia LedellPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Complex Past
Photo by SUNBEAM PHOTOGRAPHY on Unsplash

5 Complex Past

The past can say a lot about a person,

If you knew first hand would my impression worsen

A bottomless burden,

My hands are tied but you're still hurting

How can I make it better?

Cold hands, warm sweater

Lonely nights, unbearable weather

I just wanted us to stay together

To feel your touch before your fingers withered

To hear your voice before you could no longer keep it together

But you're gone

A distant memory of the past

How complex was the blast

You know, the one that knocked me out

Just before you helped me up and showed me what true love was all about

More than a glimpse, higher than pleasure

A pleasing matter as my eyes became wetter and wetter

My want for you has turned into need

I never wanted you to leave

But that night you got up without another word and stepped out of my life like a migrating bird

Only you never came back

You found a mate, bred, and stayed where you was at

Why couldn't I have been that

Your peace, your glory, your forever and eternity

Oh wait that position didn't exist

So tell me how did she erase the memories of our first kiss

A magical moment between our lips the day we realized this was it

No need in searching for what has been found

Instead you go around acting like a loyal less hound

Sniffing women out like a straight up dog

Waiting for you to tell me the truth like a sitting log, but all you keep saying is how I love to hog

You, your time, your money, your mind

Excuses, excuses

I never asked you for anything, always had my own

If this isn't what you wanted you could have let me know what you were on

Instead you led me on, pulled me by a string before I knew what was happening

It already happened

From the front to the back end

My head hurts from the arguing, my heart hurts from the betrayal

Confusion and misunderstanding from miscommunication

Feeling like I need translation to get you to understand what it is I'm asking for

Save it cause what you're saying I've heard it a million times before

You say you love me but it's clear I loved you more

I thought we'd never go to war but here we are with our torches lit and guns blazing

How did I think this could be amazing

When all along your love was lazing

It was always tough

Greedy, selfish, is what you call me but enough is enough

I have no idea where you're getting this from

I express myself to you but you see none

I'm left here to wallow in a sinking pit filled with the memories of a love story that ended so tragic

If we lost the spark there is no magic

Only the epitome of what could of been

What should have been

But instead we're less than lovers and no longer friends

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alicia Ledell

♡ʙᴇ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴏᴡɴ ᴋɪɴᴅ ᴏғ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛɪғᴜʟ!♡

ᴄᴏᴍᴇ ʟɪᴠᴇ ɪɴ ᴍʏ ᴡᴏʀʟᴅ...

ʜɪ ᴇᴠᴇʀʏᴏɴᴇ! мy naмe ιѕ alιcιa ledell.

ɪ ᴀᴍ ᴀ ʏᴏᴜɴɢ ᴡᴏᴍᴀɴ ᴡʜᴏ ᴇɴᴊᴏʏs ᴛʜᴇ ᴇxᴄɪᴛᴇᴍᴇɴᴛ ᴀɴᴅ ᴄʀᴇᴀᴛɪᴠɪᴛʏ ᴏғ ᴡʀɪᴛɪɴɢ.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.