Poets logo

Strength

You are strong in so many ways that are amazing.

By Claire McCabePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Less frequently, I can't unscrew the lid of a jar,

But I can pull anchors with my mind,

I can lift a tank with my kindness,

I carry bags of shopping until valleys of handles forge across my palms,

I can smooth back together fractured fragments of disappointment with my bare hands,

into a passable form that parts oceans of lopsided smiles.

Sometimes I run marathon to-do lists that are double sided,

I put in the hours in the same relentless rhythm,

I can powerlift a room with my imagination,

I can thwart a villain with my assertive shrug,

I can walk in darkness over lego and not fear an evil cuss,

that loaded bullet is invincibly paused.

Often, I cry openly at beauty and triumph,

But I can cry out of one eye and dam it dry invisibly,

I can battle illness in an army of silent ninjas,

I can batton the hatches of my lip like a gale force wind that shuns hurt,

I can compliment authentically with my emotion sensing missiles,

that haul shipwrecks from the deep.

Always, my abs wobble at cake kryptonite,

But tomorrow's my titanium so it's alright,

I can bend and reshape bridges with my words,

I can hug like a forcefield that capes a super day,

I can nearly do 8 and 3/4 push ups and applaud everyone that is better or more,

Because my strength is silent and doesn't keep score.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.