Poets logo

Let my Ruby Slippers Rest

Find your home in where you are and with what you carry. Maybe you can be a home and bastion for others.

By Claire McCabePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ever feel like you literally carry your homely mojo with a shield of safety and protection. We have our ways and tricks to be comfy wherever we go!

Snail like my home glides easy on my back,

A battered high-lighter and lipstick stained pack,

Of tissues, lego cars, receipts, lip gloss and snacks,

Mints, notebook and topless pens to keep track,

Of plans or offer comfort when plans go out of whack.

Limpet like my home clings tight to its home stone,

A rolling hat of Papa's songs and messages on my phone,

An opium drag of my child's head or my boyfriend's pheromones,

A predictable jam of the photocopier and a workmate's moan,

Hear the same jokes from my family; I know I'm not alone.

Bird like I'm nest building - Fung Shui home embrace my clutter!

Our "Art" festooned on cupboards. My spoon in my peanut butter,

I capture fleeting blissful moments with my camera shutter,

Piles of tidying lines the stairs while I exhale my cupper,

Burnt sausage, beans and tracksuit will cut this life's cookie cutter.

Hermit Crab like, I borrow spaces, where hope and safety lives.

A confident spray of perfume to begin a tough day with,

Planting mugs, cakes, plants and presents sooth and like me with these gifts,

Transform and make better, my nurture instinct strives and shifts,

Skin grifting my heart to happier times when I feel adrift,

Though a traveller in life, I've strong foundations to uplift.

Like Turtles, we migrate, we are great, we do quest.

to have wine in a glass more half full and at it's best,

Like the sea, hot showers bring, hope, our enemies vanquished,

Hopeful eyes in the steaming mirror, we are refreshed and blessed,

Make me a home, where the world's welcome and my ruby slippers rest.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.