Poets logo

Strength and Resilience

We often judge ourselves by a biased view. what we see in the mirrior does not show an accurate view of ourselves and our strength.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
10
Strength and Resilience
Photo by George Pagan III on Unsplash

I was a small child growing up, physically

I was small, but it wasn’t an honest indication of my strength

I was bullied for it, I was pushed around, tripped and thrown down

I was in the middle of two horrible worlds

Both of them never allowing me a place to find refuge

Abuse at home, and abuse at school

I hated those bullies

However, I know this I'm not weak, not even close

I have immeasurable strength that those bullies will never posses

While they suffer, I find a reason to rise above

My true strength didn’t lie in my muscles

My true strength was my resilience

I've endured situations that I never thought I would survive

I even survived almost dying multiple times.

***

I spent many years of my adult life bodybuilding to feel and look strong on the outside

I drove myself to extremes, and my body paid the price

Much like most alcoholics, my life was one of extremes

For a time being the gym became my refuge, my church, my therapy

I could put all my pain into lifting the iron, and I saw the results of the work I put into it

It was the first time I saw my hard work pay off in increments

But during my addiction it didn’t matter

At the end of the day, I was still that weak and hurt child looking for his place in the world

I put on a mask of confidence; it was one of many masks I wore during my active addiction

Just like emotional scars, there are many scars I carry that can't be seen

Only felt from my days of extremes.

One of those scars was when I looked into the mirror and hated who I saw

My body dysmorphia still saw that weakling inside me

I was disgusted at him

I was never big enough

I was never strong enough

I never looked how I wanted

***

But I learned this

My body wasn’t the enemy my distorted thinking was

I'm learning what my true strengths are

Compassion, Empathy

Understanding, Kindness

I found my own strength inside me

I found my own self-worth again

Because I know my worth now

I know that my resilience is something they could never touch

They could never understand

Its mine alone

sad poetry
10

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.