Poets logo

Strawberry Moon

Never trust a codfish in a bowtie.

By Cathy holmesPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
MS Image Creator

I took a bite of strawberry moon and spit the seeds as stars.

I rode a salmon dressed in peach on a weekend trip to Mars.

There I met a fresh-baked loaf of pumpernickel rye,

who offered me a hearty slice of pumpkin-pickle pie.

*

“Pumpkin-pickle pie?” I asked. Oh my, does that sound odd?

I was assured it was delicious, by a bowtie wearing cod.

Unsure that I could trust him, of corruption he did smell,

I asked a chicken bathing in a pool of lemon gel.

*

The chicken then directed me to a stand of broccoli,

who were arguing health benefits with asparagus and peas.

The veggies paused to ponder my query. At once, they all agreed,

that I should try the pumpkin-pickle, for both were healthy feed.

*

I took a bite of the odd-smelling pie. My face, it did turn green.

I turned and saw the fish and veggies laugh and point at me.

They thought it was hilarious, and I guess that I did too.

For I laughed as hard as they did, though my hands were turning blue.

*

I noticed shortly after that my feet had changed to flippers,

but with silky fur and whiskers so they looked like kitten slippers.

My eyes were as big as saucers. I was sure I was seeing double.

That’s when I knew that nasty pie was nothing more than trouble.

*

I heard a rainbow in the sky calling out my name,

inviting me to come along and end this silly game.

I hopped aboard the rainbow and woke up in my bed.

By the way I feel right now, I’m sure I landed on my head.

*

Go take a bite of strawberry moon and fly among the stars.

You’ll meet the strangest creatures on your weekend trip to Mars.

If you come across a smiling codfish wearing a bowtie,

enjoy the ride, but never eat his pumpkin-pickle pie.

------------

For Mike Singleton's Moon in June Challenge

surreal poetryperformance poetryhumorFor Fun

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (20)

  • Tariya Wells11 days ago

    This is really great! You really know how to paint a picture with words.

  • Rasma Raisters17 days ago

    This was absolutely delightful, I loved it, I must say if I ever saw a codfish in a bow tie I would seriously consider what I had to drink the night before

  • Sara Wilson17 days ago

    This was so good! Reads like a good old nursery rhyme. 💝

  • L.C. Schäfer18 days ago

    I thought this was a 3am entry 😁 it's got a delicious Lucy in the Sky feel 😁

  • Rebecca Patton19 days ago

    This reminds me of the nursery rhymes I used to read as a kid! I had a fun time reading this, good job!

  • Christy Munson19 days ago

    Wackadiddlililishousness! Super silly and fun. Loved it. Loved your imagination's creation. 🤪

  • Mariann Carroll19 days ago

    I love this poem, Cathy !

  • Novel Allen22 days ago

    Ah another challenge...sounds fun...as fun as this poem. I found myself reading in in a child's sing-song voice.

  • Kelsey Clarey22 days ago

    This was such a fun poem!

  • D.K. Shepard23 days ago

    Spectacularly silly! A delightfully fun read! Felt like an episode in Wonderland

  • Hannah Moore23 days ago

    I'm wondering what "strawberry moon" really is...

  • Well-wrought! A delightful romp!

  • Brenda Fluharty23 days ago

    I love this it's sweet.

  • Whoaaaa, like how did you even come up with this? It's like a hilarious fever dream and sooo creative! As I always say, Queen for a reason!

  • Heather Hubler24 days ago

    Fantastic moral to this one, lol!! Loved going on this magical (or drug-induced) ride with you :)

  • Caroline Craven24 days ago

    Ha! Bonkers!! I love this! You’re so talented Cathy.

  • Babs Iverson24 days ago

    Wonderfully written!!! Your humorous poem was fun!!!❤️❤️💕

  • THis is a wonderful fun poem , thank you for this Cathy

  • shanmuga priya24 days ago

    I enjoyed reading the poem.

  • Wow, what a trip. Fabulous entry

Cathy holmesWritten by Cathy holmes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.