Poets logo

Strangers

Upbeat, incessant pulse

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I got here I wanted to run

Old people are sad to see drunk

And the young people are all strangers

And there's not enough of them

.

We were wasted when you showed up

You worked hard to catch up

Now no one's strangers anymore

And we're on the hunt for fun

.

How did we get this close?

And why do I keep

Asking these questions?

I'm not sure who started it

Nor am I sure

Who ended it

.

There's a drumbeat in everyone

Pulling us in to connection

And it feels like our curtains are down,

We're innocent

.

But just omit, and get what you want

Pressed up against a round wall

It turns out that we were still strangers after all

.

How did we get this close?

And why do I keep

Asking these questions?

I'm not sure who started it

Nor am I sure

Who ended it

Who ended it

.

Answer me

Candidly

But don't tell me anything

Answer me

Candidly

But don't tell me anything

Answer me

Candidly

But don't tell, don't tell don't tell don't tell me

Answer me

Candidly

But don't tell me anything

.

How did we get this close?

And why do I keep

Asking these questions?

I'm not sure who started it

Nor am I sure

Who ended it

Who ended it?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.