Poets logo

Stone is Stone

A poem about family

By CorwynnaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Stone is Stone
Photo by Adli Wahid on Unsplash

I'm at the corner of the marble and the mountain

Rough and smooth both cold beneath my hands

I never had a problem climbing either

Stone is stone; it won't crumble where it stands

Pillars are as stately as the snowy peak above

Steps can be as grueling as the climb

I'm at the corner of the marble and the mountain

It never crossed my mind to pick a side

My mother's hair runs wild like the bramble

But her heart is as a mountain's, deep and strong

She is free to change her face from hour to hour

The root of her is singing the same song

My father's face is carved and put together

Hard work builds up the pillars of his arms

That hold the roof above us, bent, unbreaking

A temple to our family, free from harm

I'm at the corner of the marble and the mountain

Some say I am bound to choose one way

But I say stone is stone; I will not waver

The corner is the home where I will stay

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.