Poets logo

Stolen Kisses

A Poem About Love and Heartbreak

By Cassidy KirkPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I still feel your hands around my throat like a noose

I always thought the term ‘stolen kisses’ was romantic

Until I experienced yours

Your hands spreading over me like an infection

Leaving me in a petrified state

Frozen, watching my own fate

The pain to this day haunts me

I swear sometimes I can still feel you on me, in me

You took away the one thing I had left

Control.

Control of my body,

control of my mind

You made my body no longer my own

You made my mind go mad

I was stripped of everything because of you

And still I do not hate you

You may have broke me down

But that was only so that I could be reborn

I am no longer that person you took advantage of

You can no longer hold me down

I sometimes wonder do you remember me?

Do you think of me?

Do you feel any type of remorse?

I want to believe that you’re a good person who made a bad mistake

You’re not a villain

All you are is a memory

Inside my head

Yes, I still am haunted by that night

You still find a way to creep into my mind

But I won’t let you destroy me again

My body, my mind is mine.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Cassidy Kirk

I am a young freelance journalist who also enjoys creative writing as you can see from my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.