Poets logo

Stolen Childhood

Sadness Echoes

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 28 days ago 1 min read
Tears of a Child

My heart breaks for the child I once was, a spirit so full of life, joy, and happiness, but those I loved most stole that light away, Turning bright days into endless gray.

How could a family, meant to protect and care, be the ones to leave me in despair?

With every harsh word, every cruel deed, they planted sorrow, making my heart bleed.

I remember laughter, once so free, Now just echoes, haunting me.

The warmth of love, a distant dream, Replaced by shadows that silently scream.

The joy I had, so pure and bright, Extinguished by their unrelenting night.

I look back at the child, so hopeful, so true, Wondering how they could take that from you.

Innocence shattered, trust betrayed, In a home where love should have stayed. Their actions, a theft of a precious time, Leaving scars that run deep, like a silent crime.

The child I was, with a heart so wide, Now hides in the corners, where tears reside. A life once filled with playful delight, Turned into a struggle, a constant fight.

How could a family do this, I ask, To take a child's joy, to wear a cruel mask? The ones meant to nurture, to help me grow, Were the very ones to cause this woe.

I mourn for the child, the dreams that were lost, For the happiness taken, and the heavy cost. But in this sorrow, a glimmer of light, A resolve to reclaim, to rise, to fight.

My heart breaks for the child I once was, But through the pain, I'll find my cause. To heal, to forgive, to seek what's true, To rebuild the joy that was stolen from you.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • MarLarsen28 days ago

    Making every month extra dollars by doing an easy job Online. Last month i have earned and received $18539 from this home based job just by giving this only mine 2 hrs a day. Easy to do work even a child can get this and start making money Online. Get this today by follow instructions on this website................. www.worksprofit1.com

  • Margaret Brennan28 days ago

    This is so terribly sad; my heart breaks for that little child (hoping this is a work of fiction and not you). The emotions you wrote are so real and truly felt. GREAT work.

C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.