Poets logo

Still

Learning To Exist

By Calista Marchand-NazzaroPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Still
Photo by Jacob Dyer on Unsplash

I'm still here.

I'm still trying.

I'm still failing to meet expectations.

I'm still exceeding those of some.

I'm still letting someone down.

I'm still making someone proud.

I'm still finding my way -

Perhaps I always will be.

I'm still needing to breathe

To hang on to me.

I'm still being still from time to time

While everything keeps moving at the speed of light.

But even in still water there are bubbles.

The rebels never let the stillness win.

Cause being still may sound like resting,

But it will set you up to still be lagging.

We're all still hanging in here

Despite whatever odds that there might be.

We're all still sick of being human

While fighting for our lives to be more free.

This world is full of majesty

But we'll still focus on the trash.

We're still claiming that we're changing for the better,

But we still give in to the ease.

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryinspirationalhow toFree Verse

About the Creator

Calista Marchand-Nazzaro

Always learning and always evolving. I’m a creative, an idea person, a thinker, a dreamer, and working on being a doer. Many interests. Varied content. Food. Sustainability. Comedy. Poetry. Music.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was so true and extremely profound. Loved your poem!

Calista Marchand-NazzaroWritten by Calista Marchand-Nazzaro

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.