Poets logo

still learning, still numb

still

By Chloë J.Published about a year ago 1 min read
12
still learning, still numb
Photo by Kristopher Roller on Unsplash

sweep an arm across the sky,

watch the scattered constellations

confessing a thousand loves.

/

lay still, and stiller still,

intertwined and silent.

hearts sync and sink.

/

falling bullet stars,

your back takes the brunt,

and I rub salt on raw wounds.

/

still, still, both so still.

I don’t know when I end.

I don’t know when you begin.

/

I can’t tell where we end,

and the velvet heavens begin.

we are iridescent.

/

words whispered, words breathed,

from your lips to my ears.

fragmented, they rise,

/

quick-burning vapor,

to join the doomed and dying loves,

that rip through your back.

/

I love you,

that’s what you said;

admission, vow, plea.

/

but I didn’t know how.

so I let your love burn in and up,

tried to feel something from the flames.

/

still still, I lie alone,

the shield of your body gone.

I still feel nothing as I’m ripped apart.

//

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
12

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Sara 10 months ago

    I am so happy I discovered your poetry ♡. Every piece I read is my favorite :)

  • Andrei Z.10 months ago

    It was iridescently poignant! So 'cold and lost in desperation'! Great poem, Chloë!

  • Rob Angeli12 months ago

    The agony and the ecstasy at once, bravo!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Very emotive. Well done!

  • Furqanabout a year ago

    loved it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.