Poets logo

Stay In Ya Lane

Personal safety plus...

By The Dani WriterPublished 25 days ago Updated 25 days ago 1 min read
Stay In Ya Lane
Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

When you need to tell somebody

where to get off

cuz things been body-language’d and euphemised

and polite-ed and hinted at 'til kingdom come

but your lines

been crossed more than a hatchback full o’ nuns

The nasty has its place

and it’s for those people—you know the type

The “I don’t mean to sound ungrateful buts” walking alongside the “Honey, I know you busy but do me this one favor…” and gum-clicking “Sweet-stuff-I-got-you-next-time” peeps rolling up on

your one day off

quitting time

when ya on ya LAST

and got one sleep-deprived eye open sitting one shit away from no fucks given

No 'please'

No 'thank you'

No 'mother may I'

So

waltz your ass back across that boundary you done crossed for the umpteenth time

and respect

the circle

the personal space

this breathing room

Help and assistance given

but not charity expected and demanded

I am a creation in time and space

bombarded with the complexities of this sphere

No one else controls my “Too heavy to bear” button

I got “Acegirl-done-seen-enough-abysmal-auras” and

“Sistah-you-need-to-shut-up-chakras”

The “Me-first-me-last-and-me-all-in-between” bus route has been irrevocably terminated

This your stop yo

Go take care of your own for a change

and let a Sistah be in peace

By Theodore Poncet on Unsplash

I truly appreciate that you took the time to read my poem. Kindest of thanks!

Gentle reminders that we are all mortal here and we all have our limits and breaking points. It's simply a part of the "finite being" life deal. It's important to have awareness of ourselves in our space as we journey this existence. Be mindful. Prioritise peace. Know when to say "When."

Your support helps to fuel my passion for writing. You are welcome to heart/comment/subscribe/tip/give shout-outs/share on social media with author credit, and/or ko-fi me if you'd like because it truly warms my heart.

slam poetryFree Verse

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    OMG, I feel ya! you said it so clearly and I am sick of those crossing the line too; the ones you only hear from when they want something (advice, how-to, can you?, will you?, etc) just into themselves and never thinking how it affects others. Yeah. period.✔️ great poem!! I am enthralled.

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Awesome slam poem!!! Loved it, my friend!!!💕❤️❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer19 days ago

    I love this, esp. "your lines/been crossed more than a hatchback full o’ nuns" that bit actually made me tip my head back and laugh!

  • Caroline Jane24 days ago

    I LOVE this! These lines.. "but your lines been crossed more than a hatchback full o’ nuns" Oh my God. That is a BELTING line. 🙌🙌🙌

  • GURL SAY IT LOUDER FOR THE PEOPLE AT THE BACK! LOVED THIS SO MUCH!

  • Grz Colm25 days ago

    ☺️👍 Yes mindfulness is key to having these boundaries.

  • You need to set and maintain borders, more excellent work

  • shanmuga priya25 days ago

    I like your poem. Exceptional writting.

  • Real Poetic25 days ago

    This line made me pause and snap my fingers several times!!! Love this!! “No one else controls my “Too heavy to bear” button” ❤️ ❤️❤️❤️

The Dani WriterWritten by The Dani Writer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.