Poets logo

Stationary

Ode to Reduction

By Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)Published 9 months ago 2 min read
Like
https://www.deviantart.com/mcslither/art/Lonely-Tree-173947023

I was more than pulp

More than I am now

Before I was sifted

Before the machines

When I felt a breeze

I was stationary

Unmoving from my ground

I started small

Then grew so tall

Way above the ground

I was there to see so much

All who came to town

I held so many in my arms

And most of them fell out

I brought in those who passed

Those long buried in the ground

I could drink the water

So near to my feet

They parked in my shade

Lost virginity

For decades I held firm

For years I blossomed well

My beauty as I shed the colors

Was without parallel

It hurt so much that day

Those who came not here for fun

I lost so much that day

When last I felt the sun

I wished that I could tarry

And thus remain stationary

I was cut

I wash slashed

I was burned

I was drowned

I was ground down

Until only my fiber remained

Down to my barest

I was hard pressed

To keep myself together

Left to myself

I would have

Preferred the dark

Then I need not suffer

That which might be next

That which I never could have guessed

Would come from my time

When I had the air

Water sun and life

When I once again knew light

It was not the same warmth I once knew

Instead it was harsh

And bright

I was placed upon another

Who had met a similar fate

Though she was larger

And my size quite small

I could see she was no longer here

If I could I would have shed a tear

I went by many names before

Time feeling so long gone

I recall my time as stationary

Tall and firm and strong

Though they refer to me as stationery

Something feels quite wrong

social commentarysad poetrynature poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)

Since 1991, this compassionate writer has grown through much adversity in life. One day it will culminate on his final day on Earth, but until then, we learn something new every day and we all have something to offer to others as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    This is damn clever, sir! From stationary to stationery...like so many of us if we don't pay attention.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.