Poets logo

State in Which Things Were Before

By Brian Sluga

By MR BRIAN SLUGAPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

This will be my calling

the road will never end

as an actor I've scaled the heights

it's a powerful muted life

Fly a kite if she tells me

heavens clock is all tallied

sane like but don't move

reality is to become a leading man

In some weird way

I wasn't surprised

led a beautiful sorted life

transparent in my vulnerability

someone destined for the scene

Those boundaries accepted

the cultural realm is considered

plans to leave my calling

with whistles and chants

Perceived negatively by supporters

social movement wanted to maintain

status quo seen being deliberate

Referring to rather than formalizing

a glimpse almost visible

those consequences

when the world turns to dust

Exorcised by the author

deeper fear of causing offence

perhaps the salacious celebrity

my show may never open

inspirational
1

About the Creator

MR BRIAN SLUGA

I am Brian Sluga, change management consultant, author, sports lover and husband. I have a Bachelor’s from Bradley University and am in the MFA creative writing program at Lindenwood University. Consider my stories, poems and nonsense.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.