Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Starving

Eating disorder struggle

By Rene PetersPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
6
Starving
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I chug water so something is in me

I have pleasure from the pain of a mostly empty stomach

At first the pain was just that... pain

It was me punishing myself

But now I enjoy that feeling

I control when I have it... my only form of control

I wait until I get dizzy and eat the smallest amount I can

Then I wait for it to happen again

I don't know if I can get out of this cycle

I starve myself for control... for pleasure.

Mental Healthsad poetryFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
6

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    This was so relatable because I love doing this to myself too

  • ROCK 24 days ago

    I struggled with anorexia and body image in my teens. No one noticed. We can fool do many. I over exercised. It's a fries chore. Control is my culprit.

  • Babs Iverson24 days ago

    Sending virtual hugs!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Kendall Defoe 24 days ago

    Food is sometimes the most dangerous drug/tool/weapon out there...

  • Sid Aaron Hirji24 days ago

    I hear you in that. It’s hard to realize it is actually a form of self harm. I struggle to get myself to eat often so I batch cook. I can feel the pain in this poem. Well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.