Poets logo

Starting to Call it Home

Poetry for the soul

By MentalmattersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Starting to Call it Home
Photo by Rowan Heuvel on Unsplash

They never love me, until they lose me

They never truly choose me

And some night I lose sleep

Wondering if i'm someone to keep

Someone to cherish

Thinking maybe I should care less about the ones that left

And common sense would tell me to love myself first

But I was never taught to learn my own worth

So starts the back and forth of love and hurt

You shouldn't have to earn you own worth

But many people can’t believe in the things their unable to see

Like the dreams that they've been dying to release

I hope they find their peace

Because my heart she bleeds as I ignore her needs

As I wait to fulfill the needs of someone else

Thinking that's the thing that will help

When in reality it has to come from yourself

It doesn't matter what cards you were dealt

You decide where you're placed on that shelf

So lift yourself higher

I can see that you're tired

But there's so much to be desired just outside of your comfort zone

Watch how quickly you start to call it home

Give it time and it just might be the thing that finally heals your bones

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Mentalmatters

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.