Poets logo

Authenticity

Spoken word Poetry

By MentalmattersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Authenticity
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Thinking of the lovers that broke me

Gifting scars for only me to see

Each wound teaching me how to stop the bleed

Lessons I never want the opportunity to teach

I look back to the versions of the old me

I wish I could show her the power behind being lonely

The power of not wanting anyone to own me

Learning to exist in the world without needing anyone to show me

There is no right or wrong when you decide how you’re worthy

I would tell her to live life freely

Keeping faith even through uncertainty

Reminding myself that I've done this for eternities

There's no need to turn back when I know the divine is supporting me

But personally I believe

I was guided to all the different versions of me so I could see the purpose behind authenticity

Why it's important to show up as nobody else but me

Knowing that it doesn't matter what version anyone else sees

There was never an urgency to this discovery

I am proud of each transition I've had the opportunity to be

Even through mistakes that I was unable to foresee

They are each as beautiful as I will ever be

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mentalmatters

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.